top of page




Teresa A. Jones

Teresa A. Jones joined ABWA in October 2020. She quickly embraced the ABWA mission by serving on the Chapter's Holiday Celebration planning committee, Nomination Committee and was recently nominated and elected as Secretary. Teresa is a consummate professional who retired from the federalgovernment in 2017 after 25 years of public service. She retired to care for her ailing mother and after her mother passed away, she reimagined her life and launched a business providing notary services.Initially launching in Virginia in 2020, she re-launched her business, Notary Excellence, LLC. after re-locating to Maryland in 2021. Teresa is a proud HBCU graduate of Morgan State University. She began her career as a public servant after graduating in 1989. Her academic credentials include a bachelor’sdegree in psychology, and two masters, one in counseling and another in executive leadership. Teresa is a trained leader, her mission as a leader is to make a difference by authentically influencing possibility sothat value is created, and excellence is realized. She genuinely cares about meeting the needs of those in her community and serves her community with a Spirit of Excellence! Teresa is a member of the AlphaNu Omega Sorority, Inc. And at her church, Teresa is a member of the women’s ministry leadership team and sings in the choir.

Juanita Hall.jpg

Vice President

Juanita A. Hall

Juanita A. Hall is our current Vice-President as well as Chapter Membership and Professional Development Chairperson, and monitor of the Chapter’s Best Practices. She joined the Chapter in 2013 and has served on the ABWA National Nominating Committee. Juanita is Manager for Staff Development and Education at Carroll Manor Nursing and Rehabilitation Center. A licensed and ordained minister, she Chairs the Women’s Ministry, is a member of the Nurses Ministry and teaches Sunday School at Corinthian Baptist Church in Lanham, MD. Other strong ties include her roles as Immediate Past Regional Director of Northeast Region – Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc., President, Gamma Beta Chapter – Sigma Nursing Honor Society and a member of Prince George’s County Chapter of Top Ladies of Distinction, Inc. Juanita is also a member of the National Council of Negro Women as well as the NAACP.


Recording Secretary

Arlene Reese

Arlene Reese has served the Chapter as treasurer and previously as
secretary since joining ABWA in 2005. Currently, she is Hospitality Committee Chair, a position she has held for the past four years. She retired as lead Manpower Management Analyst for Civilian and Military personnel, Department of the Navy, Bureau of Medicine and Surgery.


Financial Secretary

Karen R. McDowell

Karen R. McDowell, immediate past Treasurer since she joined the Chapter in 2016. In 2019, she was elected Woman of the Year.  Karen is employed in the regulatory financial management industry. Karen is a HBCU graduate of Morgan State University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Finance. Karen is a member of the Corinthian Baptist Church in Lanham, Maryland. She currently is the Director of their Youth Ministry; she is a member of the
Deaconess Ministry and the Senior Ushers Ministry where she holds various positions. She diligently works with the Titus II Women’s Ministry where she participates annually with the Angel Tree Project sponsored by the Prison Outreach Ministry during the Christmas Holiday season. She is enthusiastic about attending regional and national ABWA conferences and takes full advantage of courses sponsored
by the Association at Park University as well as KU MBA Essentials course. Karen is energetic, motivated, and excited about the association and participates on many of our committees and fundraisers.



E. Denise Roberts

E. Denise Roberts has been a member of ABWA for 10 years.   She has served in various capacities in our chapter: Audit Committee Chair; Vice President, Member of the Ways and Means Committee and was
the 2014 Woman of the Year.  Currently, she is a self-employed Tax Preparer. Previously, served in various accounting and Information Technology related jobs during her federal career of 36 years.



Karen Y. Williams

Karen Y. Williams leads passionately and has served multiple times as Chapter President. She is past ABWA District IV Vice President and currently co-leads the District IV Steering Committee.  A 2014 Top Ten American Business Woman, she is an information technology specialist and owner of  JC Williams Consulting, LLC.  In 2018, she was elected District of Columbia Mother of the Year by Mothers, Inc.

bottom of page